Lesson 1 - Ahimsa

January 3, 2019


The Eight Limbs of Yoga Explained





Being the start of a new year, I thought we would start from the beginning... 




Yama are social observances. They are the way that we regulate our behavior in relation to others. There are five yamas and when practiced perfectly, Patañjali calls them “the great observances.”


1 - AHIMSA / Non-Violence


Ahimsa means being non-violent in word, thought, or action.  It means not causing pain to other living beings, which inclde animals, insecs, and plants.  If we establish non-violence in our daily lives, all conflict will come to an end. We hve a saying in Kannada, my mother tongue:  "It takes two hands to clap and make a sound."  With just one hand, no sound is made.  So, if you do not react when someone has a conflict with you, then the conflict will end - no clap, no noise.


- Sharath Jois 

Astanga Yoga Anusthana


Sutra 2.35 - ahimsa pratishthayam tat vaira-tyagah

As a Yogi becomes firmly grounded in non-injury (ahimsa), other people who come near will naturally lose any feelings of hostility.



"This will be a life-long practice and the real transformation happens once one is educated in all the limbs. Without understanding yoga through proper education, it is impossible to understand what yoga is. Yet what is meant by education here is the practice, putting theory into practice, not necessarily a formal education."


A great reminder on the Key Ingredients for Experiencing Yoga... just in time for 2019!   Click below- 




Looking forward to learning with you all... See You on the Mat! 







Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Happy Thanksgiving

October 11, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

October 11, 2019

September 18, 2019

September 9, 2019

August 20, 2019

July 2, 2019

March 28, 2019

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
"Encourage One Another and Build Each Other Up”

Calgary, AB, Canada